Why I am not yet a vegetarian

So, those of you who know me know I am animal crazy. Crazy to the point where I regularly go onto YouTube to watch videos about animals (they don’t even have to be doing something funny for me to watch it) and I google “cute ­­­­­­­­­____________ (insert animal)” at least once a week.  I even love animals more than my beloved staple food, bread. Then one would wonder why in the world am I not yet a vegetarian?

Well, it is actually because I love bacon. I really, really love bacon, especially with French toast and syrup in the morning and a nice decaf coffee.  But what about the piggy’s, those cute, stinky, muddy creatures with the rosy pink noses and swirly tails that go oink-oink? Dude, I honestly don’t know. I think pigs are cute, but I think bacon is delicious (I can actually smell the imaginary bacon frying in the imaginary pan).

 

[Here is an interesting piece of information: I don’t like meat. It does not fill me up and I always feel ill after eating it. Maybe it is my conscience trying to kill me? But I still love bacon.]

Why do you have to swear off meat to protect the animals? Why put that label and food restrictions on your life? Why not rather eat only free range meat, boycott freaky slaughter houses and the inhumane treatment of animals, boycott companies/producers that test on animals, encourage people to microchip their animals, make people aware of animals that are up for adoption, do not hunt for recreational pursuits, protect animals that are close to extinction and be a voice for the helpless animals.

The Creator (it does not matter which God you believe in) put animals on the planet to feed the humans, but He did not put them here to be exploited by humans or used for cruel and selfish reasons. If you do not believe in a Creator (you are probably a non-conformist in any way so you wouldn’t want to label yourself as something) you can still do the above things because you still have a heart.

P.S. I do realise that there are different reasons for becoming vegetarian, like those people who want to save the environment, but I am not going to go into that. I am too busy thinking about bacon.

 Song of the day: Grouplove – Colours. Love dem dirty hippies 😉

Listen to it here: http://www.grouplovemusic.com/

July 22, 2011. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. iSteve replied:

    I fully agree, I can still relate to vegetarians to an extend, but my mind does not comprehend vegans… But let’s leave that for another comment!
    This post reminds me of the saying
    “Meat is murder. Sweet, sweet, delicious murder…”

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

