Avoid if possible

I’ve been working in publishing for nine months now and there is something I have come to realise: there is a certain type of person who should not work in publishing, and that type is ME! Why would I think this?

Well, people like me make other people nervous.

This is a conversation my direct manager and I had. Please note: my direct manager is a lady who is not fazed by anything.

DM: Hey dude

Me: Hey!

DM: Have you been in my office lately? No wait. Have you seen my desk lately?

Me: – Swivelling my chair around looking into her office – Yes. Why?

DM: Dude, my desk is chaotic, but yours makes me anxious! – Looks at my desk like it is launching a paper-attack on her

Desk on the left side

Desk on the right side

Yes, my desk looks like a mini nuclear paper bomb has been dropped. Here’s the thing though, I know where everything is. If you had to come to my desk and ask for last months proposal forms, I know where to find it. I know it’s under last months stuff lying on the left corner of my desk (somewhere). 

I would probably make a really good hoarder one day.

Friend: Hey you! Where is that card I gave you in Grade 5?

Me: Oh the one with the pink frills? It’s in pile row number five of room eight under the old Cosmopolitan magazines from 2008.

Friend: Wow.

Anyway, I still love my job and my chaotic desk does not affect my ability to do it. Plus I am pretty sure I would not fit into any other industry 🙂

August 17, 2011. Tags: , , , , , . Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Sophy replied:

    Ja, jy sal eendag net soos ek alles bymekaar maak, want se nou jy kry dit oor twintig jaar nodig?!? Nou na veertig jaar moet ek begin skoonmaak. Waar gaan ek my goedjies soek…………….EEBDAG.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

