Beach bum or Karoo flower?

Since I’ve been so inactive on my blog the last couple of weeks I will make up for it by showing picture collages of the places I have visited in that time. I have been excited about this post for approximately a month now. I made the collages and worked on Photoshop and just generally had a fun time!

Anyway, these awesome places are at total opposite ends in terms of the type of milieu they are situated in. One being on the coast by the beach (Franskraal) and the other inland in the Karoo (Beaufort West and Matjiesfontein).

I can never decide if I would rather live close to the sea or in the Karoo… What would you prefer? Maybe I would take living in the Karoo and having a holiday house by the beach? πŸ™‚ I like that idea.

Please don’t judge me too harshly on my collage attempts. This is the first time I’ve tried this and it’s also the first time that I’ve tried my hand at Photoshop. Looking at these collages now I would definitely put plain borders around the different pictures because they seem to blend too much.

Some randoms from our Franskraal birthday weekend

On the sides we have the game “Pig-Out” and in the middle my “tattoo”. Very fake of course, but it looked very pretty especially against my pale foot and I found myself wishing it was real.

Franskraal's magic

Top left we have a random house right on the sand by the lagoon, on its right we have a long shot of those houses, then a really cool sign that was hanging in someone’s window, next to it is the house we lived in. I love that house and it’s not even mine. In this picture it looks kind of spooky, but it’s not. It’s lovely… and massive! It’s for sale now and it was probably the last time we will ever stay in it. That makes me sad. Then we have a shot of the street and then the water slide at the caravan park in Franskraal.

Franskraal in four pieces

So, over here we have two pictures I took from inside the house to show the viewer exactly how close we are to the beach. I quite love the bottom one. It looks very old-skewl. Then we have two pics from the beach. The top is a heart made of flowers that we randomly found on the beach. Pretty cute hey! I think it was for wedding pictures, because a little while before we went down to the beach a wedding followingΒ came from that direction. And then we also found this freaky looking shell creature. Apparently it stinks when you pick it up. I didn’t try to find out.

Let's go to the beach

Some random pictures I took at the beach. My personal favourite being the fisherman. I love fishing by the way. I found the lady walking with her orange outfit and matching Chinese umbrella unusual. It’s not like you see this everyday.

On our way to Beaufort West

I took these pictures while on our way to Beaufort West. We saw some trains going past and these pretty little purple, pink and orange flowers everywhere. It was very pretty, especially because it is usually quite dry.

Driving in the Karoo

Found that cross next to the road, not marked. We see a lot of those when we drive to Beaufort, sometimes they have pictures and names and sometimes it’s just two pieces of wood nailed together. However, it doesn’t matter what it looks like, it’s still a symbol of someone’s loved one who died on that road in that exact spot. Then of course there are many old train stations that are relic and abandoned.

Photos taken in Beaufort West

These photographs were taken in town at the local photography spot. It’s really pretty.

Some random photos from Beaufort West

These are some sheep we saw along the road, then an old fort that is (obviously) now abandoned and then the railway tracks. They basically run all the way along the road.

Matjiesfontein's calling

These photos were taken on our way back to Cape Town from Beaufort West in a little place called Matjiesfontein. The whole town consists of a very old hotel called the Lord Milner. I am not going to go into the history of the place, but if you are really interested you can just google it πŸ™‚ And it’s beautiful! We have decided that we will definitely be sleeping over there sometime. We have also heard rumours that it is haunted. Double yay!

In and around the Lord Milner Hotel

Photographs taken at Matjiesfontein. There is also a museum. And I want a chandelier like that in my house one day. It will blow my visitor’s minds.

Odds and ends in Matjiesfontein

Some antiques we saw inside the hotel and one of the buildings next to it. There are quite a few of these old paintings. Mind you, there are actually quite few old things in the hotel. It is truly lovely.

Well, I hope you had as much fun as I had making this blog post πŸ™‚ let me know whether you are a beach bum or a Karoo flower.

November 2, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Holiday.

6 Comments

  1. Sophy replied:

    Die Karoo bly maar van die mooiste plekke in ons land. Ek gaan kuier ook graag daar, want die mense is ook iets anders……..dierbaar en mensliewend. Foto;s baie mooi en stukke baie interessant.

  2. Laverne replied:

    Hey! Ek love jou blogposts! Eks heeltemal te inactive op myne en sal bietjie moet bykom πŸ™‚

    Anyway, ek verkies die binneland en veral die kwazulu natal area, maar die karoo is een van die mooiste plekke. Ek verkies altyd om liewer joburg to te ry as om te vlieg (as ek kan) want die natuur is net so n asemrowende ding en ons land is so vol van die prag en die natuurlike skoonheid – mense mis dit baie keer om die mooi te sien van ons land.

    Jyt my nou behoorlik lus gemaak vir n vakansie en die Desember gaan ek maar net Joburg toe, maar ek gaan definitief jou voorbeeld volg en my blog bietjie update πŸ™‚ long time. Haha

    Lekker skryf

    Laverne

    • imaginewisdom replied:

      Hey Laverne!

      Dankie vir jou mooi comment πŸ™‚ en dat jy die moeite doen om my blog te lees! Dis goeie nuus.

      Ek moet se, ek was self nog nie in die Kwazulu Natal-area nie. Maar ek sou graag wou gaan. Dis net vakansies gaan mens mos maar vir die familie kuier of jy gaan iewers wat jy weet dit gaan lekker wees.
      Sal n slag moet ophou boring wees en iets nuut probeer! En ek stem saam met jou dat mens baie keer die mooi in ons land mis.
      Ons moet ons oe oophou vir die natuurskoon.

      Ja, update jou blog! Ek dink ek het dit eenkeer gelees, deur die link wat op fb kom. Sal graag meer wil lees. So gaan skryf iets! πŸ™‚ die kreatiewe proses is awesome. Enjoy!

  3. iSteve replied:

    Beach bum all the way… You can come visit us on the weekends you miss the beach πŸ˜‰

    • imaginewisdom replied:

      Hiehie! Thanks for the invite πŸ˜› I’m still not sure what I would prefer. I would definitely miss having the beach nearby to take afternoon walks.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

