Can a song be hauntingly beautiful?

The answer is: Yes! Of course it can. Silly question. I can’t believe I even posed such a question. If you read my post music makes the world go round you would know how important melodies are to me. I particularly love the song Skinny Love by Bon Iver (written by Justin Vernon) and in my previous post mentioned above I make reference to a remix of it, which I happen to also love.

And then one lovely day, I was watching tv and Skinny Love started playing, totally catching me off guard, because it was not Bon Iver or the remix by Das Kapital. This was done by a girl called Birdy and it was love at first listen. Not that I am shunning the other two versions, I really love all three now. The more the merrier right? So why did I instantly fall in love with this song?  Well, I shall tell you.

1. It is sung by a girl. I love to hear a female voice sing. I actually prefer it to a man’s voice. Most of my favourite bands have female lead singers. By the way, Birdy (real name Jasmine Van den Bogaerde) is only 15.

2. It truly is hauntingly beautiful. You want to cry when you listen to it. And not because your ears are bleeding, but because it touches your heart and you can live yourself into the song.

So, I am going to share it with you  so that you can experience it and decide for yourself. Let me know what you think.

 

 

November 17, 2011. Tags: , , , , . Music.

9 Comments

  1. LMF replied:

    That song is pretty amazing, not gonna lie! It’s deff a “hauntingly beautiful” song. It might even be ring tone worthy 😉

    • imaginewisdom replied:

      Glad you thinks so 🙂 maybe a ring tone for 2012?
      It’s just so sad though… Don’t know if I would be able to listen to it all day without getting to depressed. Not that my phone rings all day, so I might live through it!

  2. Gwendolyn Francis (@pullmyfunnybone) replied:

    A great hauntingly beautiful song. The song that does it for me is called Half-Acre by Hem. Whenever I hear it, it always stops me in my tracks and puts me in this state I can’t quite explain. It’s like it brings me back to a core part of myself. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4W_SIRxF6oc

    Thanks for complimenting my blog! It’s been a lot of fun to write a crazy blog that I find funny anyway. Hopefully others will too.

    Saw that we have a lot in common. I too love animals. Have a dog and two cats. I also have a horrific case of road rage. Book crazy & music crazy (and art/photography crazy.) OH and of course, red wine 🙂

    Thanks for reaching out!

    • imaginewisdom replied:

      I watched that video. Quite beautiful. I kind of freaked out over it. Even googled the lyrics. And can you believe it? They are also beautiful! Plain, but meaningful. Thanks for introducing me to it 🙂

  3. iSteve replied:

    Nou net op die af gekom, gedink jy sou dit dalk enjoy!
    Justin Vernon of Bon Iver on “Skinny Love”

    Q: So Emma seems to be the subject of a lot of these songs? Who is/was she?

    JV: Well, it’s not a “she” question as much as it’s a “what” and “when” question. It’s old love. And in this case, old, sore, lost love.

    Q: Were these songs written forever ago or are they just about “forever ago”? If the latter, did you ever set out to write this record before?

    JV: About forever ago. They were all written at the same time. I was unable to deal with my personal shit within the constraints or boundaries of my other musical projects or personal environment.

    Q: There’s this peaceful resignation going on all over For Emma. It suggests there’s been some time and distance between you and the stories you’re telling. Is that the case?

    JV: In time, yes. But in earnestness and closeness of feel, they are current, or were when I wrote them. They hadn’t escaped or dissipated yet until I dealt with them, no matter how long ago they existed. It’s kind of like the sores are still open. Just scarred over. So it’s like me sitting and examining these scars. Trying to rip them off. Discard them. Or at least explain them, so I can be at peace with them.

    Q: “Skinny Love” seems this one is about the moment you knew things were destined to fail.

    JV: Well, this wasn’t about who you think it would be about. Part of the trouble with the old haunting love, is that it fucks with your future loves, and can damn and/or ambush your relationships. That’s who this is about.
    “Part of the trouble with the old haunting love, is that it fucks with your future loves, and can damn and/or ambush your relationships.”

    • imaginewisdom replied:

      Ah wow! Dis awesome 🙂 uiteindelik weet ek waaroor die songs eindlik gaan. En dit pas so mooi by wat hy se daaroor.

      Thanks man 🙂
      Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device

  4. iSteve replied:

    WOW dis n awesome version 🙂

    • imaginewisdom replied:

      Yay! Ek’s bly jy like dit 🙂

    • iSteve replied:

      Hmmm…. Ek dink dis nou al die 6de keer dat ek vandag weer die song luister 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

